Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Information on the research project

Integration of (bio-)synthetic molecules in technical hybrid systems
Grafische Darstellung von MIE

What does MIE focus on?

It is aimed for the development of biotechnological - technical hybrid systems which are based on the principles of nature and exploit these systematically. Areas of application are e.g. chemical, mechanical, electronic surroundings. These new technologies of the future will only remind of natural occuring biological systems approach-wise.

 

Who is involved in MIE?

The biotechnological research network "Molecular Interaction Engineering" (MIE) aims to bundle and focus the competences within the Helmholtz community  in the fields of biotechnology, structure biology, material sciences, process engineering and computational simulations. It is our goal to develop innovative, flexible and at the same time economic biotechnological production systems.

Working groups of the Forschungszentrum Jülich , the Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht  and the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology are involved.

 

What does Molecular Interaction Engineering mean?

The outstanding abilities of biological systems are based on the specific interaction of molecular components. The following examples serve for the illustration:

  • Proteins bind to DNA or to other proteins by means of specific molecular boundary surfaces and thus regulate formation and preservation of complex orgamisms

  • Enzymes convert certain molecules due to molecular fit

  • Sensors react to defined signals from the surroundings

The transfer of these molecular interaction mechanisms in future technologies requires a close cooperation between biological basis disciplines and engineering sciences. A technology which is paraphrased very well with the heading "Molecular Interaction Engineering".

 

How is MIE realized?

The key for future developments is the specific engineering of the interaction of complex biomolecules in hybrid systems with regard to new functions under technical environmental conditions. Here, the traditional, ongoing evolution of biological molecules reaches its borders for all sorts of industrial applications. By combining methods of biotechnology, structure biology, material sciences, process engineering and computational simulation, these limits shall be overcome and custom-made variously usable bio molecules and bio hybrid systems are produced.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Informationen zum Forschungsprojekt

Integration von (bio-)synthetischen Molekülen in technische Hybridsysteme
Grafische Darstellung von MIE

 

     


     

    Was bezweckt MIE?

     

    Es wird angestrebt, biotechnologisch-technische Hybridsysteme zu entwickeln, die auf den Prinzipien der Natur basieren und diese systematisch nutzen. Anwendungsgebiete sind z.B. chemisch-mechanisch-elektronische Umgebungen. Diese neuen Technologien der Zukunft werden nur noch ansatzweise an natürlich vorkommende biologische Systeme erinnern.

     

     

    Wer ist an MIE beteiligt?

     

    Das biotechnologische Forschungsnetzwerk für „Molecular Interaction Engineering“ (MIE) hat das Ziel, innerhalb der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft die Kompetenzen auf den Gebieten der Biotechnologie, der Strukturbiologie, den Materialwissenschaften, der Prozesstechnik und der Computersimulation zu bündeln und auf die Entwicklung von innovativen, flexiblen und zugleich wirtschaftlichen biotechnologischen Produktionssysteme zu fokussieren.
    Beteiligt sind Arbeitsgruppen des Forschungszentrums Jülich, des Helmholtz-Zentrums Geesthacht und des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie.

     

    Was bedeutet Molecular Interaction Engineering?

     

    Die herausragenden Fähigkeiten biologischer Systeme beruhen auf der spezifischen Interaktion molekularer Komponenten. Zur Veranschaulichung dienen folgende Beispiele:

    • Proteine binden an DNA oder an andere Proteine mittels spezifischer molekularer Grenzflächen und steuern damit das Entstehen und den Erhalt komplexer Organismen
    • Enzyme setzen aufgrund molekularer Passgenauigkeit bestimmte Moleküle um
    • Sensoren reagieren auf definierte Umgebungssignale

    Die Translation dieser molekularen Interaktionsmechanismen in zukünftige Technologien bedarf einer engen Zusammenarbeit zwischen biologischen Grundlagendisziplinen und Ingenieurwissenschaften und lässt sich daher bestens mit der Überschrift „Molecular Interaction Engineering“ umschreiben.

     

    Wie erfolgt die Umsetzung?

     

    Der Schlüssel für zukünftige Entwicklungen ist das gezielte Engineering der Wechselwirkung komplexer Biomoleküle im Hinblick auf neuartige Funktionen in hybriden Systemen unter technischen Umgebungsbedingungen. Hier stößt die traditionelle, fortlaufende Evolution biologischer Moleküle für verschiedenste industrielle Anwendungen an ihre Grenzen. Indem Methoden der Biotechnologie, der Strukturbiologie, der Materialwissenschaften, der Prozesstechnik und der Computersimulation kombiniert werden, sollen diese Grenzen überwunden und maßgeschneiderte vielfältig einsetzbare Biomoleküle und Biohybridsysteme erzeugt werden.